Vincentia High School logo

Vincentia High School

Vincentia High School

Learning For Life

Telephone02 4441 6766


The study of mathematics is mandatory from Kindergarten to Year 10. 

By studying mathematics, students learn to work mathematically – developing fluency, understanding, problem-solving, reasoning and communication skills.

The syllabus consists of the following strands:

  • number and algebra
  • measurement and geometry
  • statistics and probability.

In Year 11 and 12, the study of mathematics is optional. Courses offered include:

  • Mathematics Extension 2 (Year 12 only)
  • Mathematics Extension 1
  • Mathematics Advanced
  • Mathematics Standard 2
  • Mathematics Standard 1 (Optional HSC examination)
  • Mathematics Life Skills.

The Mathematics Years 7-10 Syllabus forms part of the continuum of mathematics learning from Kindergarten to Year 10. To ensure coherence and continuity, this syllabus was developed at the same time as the Mathematics K-6 Syllabus. The Stage 6 syllabuses were developed for students in Years 11 and 12 and therefore represent the mathematics learning for all students who study mathematics in those years.

The following diagram represents available pathways of learning in mathematics from Early Stage 1 to Stage 6. In this diagram, the Stages refer to the level of knowledge of mathematics learning rather than to the stages of schooling. In this way it is acknowledged that a student who is in Year 7, for example, may still be working towards Stage 3 outcomes, just as a student in Year 8, for example, may be working towards Stage 5 outcomes.

mathematics block diagram